The Silver Jar

"My own business bores me to death; I prefer other people's" – Oscar Wilde

Kickstart Again

I am ashamed to say that I have neglected my writing. I have started a new job where I write all day. So when I return home all bleary-eyed and tired after having been staring at a screen all day – the last thing I have wanted to do is work the same part of my brain all evening, it needs a rest!

But this poses a catch-22 situation where I will never write outside of work, which is outrageous as I’m never going to get my novel written that way. So I plan to plough on, eye-strain or no eye-strain.

I also haven’t had much chance to read much literature recently either, something which I am hoping to rectify over Christmas. So forgive me if this post isn’t exactly inspired. The point, I suppose, of this post is more to inspire me than you. To get some of my over-worked words and feelings down in print. So that I can see it’s time to stop delaying, and just write.

My next project will be to write a short story. Perhaps it will be set in London, the Big Smoke. After all, I do live here now – a big bustle of a city. It is the perfect setting for a romance, a noir, a comedy?

I took myself on a photo tour of London at the weekend, starting off in Bank and walking down to St. Pauls, to the water front, up to the West End, Covent Garden and Oxford Circus. As I’m sure you can tell, it turned into more of a Christmas shopping trip than a photo tour, but it’s inspiring. The streets are quaint, the buildings are tall and beautiful and the Christmas lights add the warmth of festive happiness to an otherwise frosty afternoon.

I have asked Santa for a better camera in my stocking this year, so hopefully I will be able to marry my writing and photography together to be a more successful blogger.

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2012 by in Inspiration, Writing and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

