The Silver Jar

"My own business bores me to death; I prefer other people's" – Oscar Wilde

Write It Down

I have been going through a huge transitional period in my life for the last few months. I have been applying for jobs in London, looking to kickstart my career in the field I want to pursue…copywriting. Waiting to hear back from prospective employers and wanting to keep my current employers in the loop with my progress and thus when I would be leaving, while also planning a huge relocation is stressful! I am almost at the end of the journey though. My boyfriend is already down there, he began his job at the start of the week and is loving it so far. I am moving down in 2 weeks and start my job in 3 weeks.

It is a huge transitional period, and I have been writing down how I feel at each stage of my progression. Reading back through it, I see that I have a lot of anger, desperation and sadness. These are three things which I don’t like to associate with myself, as I am sure nobody does. But here I am.

Recognising these emotions means that I can at least use them. Maybe not now, they are too raw. Having written them down allows me to read them in a month, or a year, or ten years time and remember exactly how passionate I felt at the time.

I have used this technique many times in my life, and I have always found it therapeutic.

Here are some related articles on writing as therapy. Nothing is more powerful than your own experiences and emotions. Use them.

As Easy As ABC

Write Therapy – The Write Spirit

Writing Therapy 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2012 by in Inspiration, Writing and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

