The Silver Jar

"My own business bores me to death; I prefer other people's" – Oscar Wilde

Summer Lovin’

One of the most memorable Summer’s of my entire life so far was spent at an American Summer Camp called Camp Miniwanca.

Camp Miniwanca is situated in Western Michigan, right on the Great Lake, Lake Michigan. Picturesque doesn’t even begin to explain the beauty of the area, a mix of forest and sand dunes. I was 19, a camp counsellor – swimming instructor and life guard. I knew nobody when I arrived, and I knew everybody when I left. I learnt how to make a bracelet, I learnt how to play 4 Square, I learnt how to get up at 7am every morning without complaining, I learnt how to say rude words in French from my best friend Caroline, I learnt how to swim in open water, I learnt how to sail and do yoga, I learnt how to be a role model. I learnt a lot about myself.

It is a Summer that I have wanted to do justice for a long time. I have begun the tale. I decided to write it as a reflective piece in the form of flashbacks, with the start of the book being the end of the summer. It is a work in progress, but take a look at it so far.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2012 by in Creative Writing, Literature and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

